Public Policy

Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Sid Richardson Hall (SRH) 3.104, phone (512) 471-4292, fax (512) 471-8455; campus mail code: E2700

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Lyndon B. Johnson

School of Public Affairs, P O Box Y, Austin TX 78713

E-mail: lbjadmit@austin.utexas.edu

URL: https://lbj.utexas.edu

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs is housed in Sid Richardson Hall, adjacent to the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum.

The LBJ School Computer Lab is reserved for public affairs students and is available twenty-four hours a day. It provides access to a variety of software useful for completing coursework such as ArcGIS and Stata. Ten dual-boot systems (run both Windows and macOS) are physically available in the lab along with four monitors that can be connected to a personal laptop using a ring of adapters. Additionally, the Computer Lab has 12 Windows systems available for remote connections which enable access to this software from a personal computer while off campus.

Areas of Study

The doctoral degree program in public policy is a research-oriented program designed to give the student substantial knowledge of one or more disciplines, an understanding of the policy process, and technical mastery of advanced research skills. It aims to develop research scholars and university faculty who will make substantive contributions to our understanding of complex public policy problems and who can conduct research in multidisciplinary settings.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Martin Joseph Luby

Sheila M Olmstead

Steven Wayne Pedigo

Victoria E Rodriguez Jaganath Sankaran

William G Spelman

David W Springer

Chandler W Stolp

Philip U Treisman

Paul Von hippel

Andrew Waxman

Patrick P Wong

Catherine Elizabeth Weaver

Peter M Ward

Jeremi Suri

Todd A Olmstead Francie Ostrower

Varun Rai

Gordon B Abner

Abigail Rosemary ann Aiken

Jacqueline L Angel Richard Patrick Bixler Joshua W Busby Robert M Chesney George M De Shazo Jr

David J Eaton Mary Evans

Raissa Fabregas robles gil

Kenneth Flamm James K Galbraith Sergio I Garcia Kishore Gawande Sheena Elise Greitens Robert L Hutchings William Inboden

Peniel E Joseph

Alan J Kuperman

Erin Lentz

Admission Requirements

Admission decisions are made by an admissions committee. The committee considers applicants' academic and employment records, three letters of recommendation, a writing sample, and a proposal of study that addresses the applicant's interest in and preparation for doctoral-level public policy research. A résumé and transcripts for all college coursework are also required.

Additional information on degree requirements and the application process is available from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs website.