This is an archived copy of the 2014-16 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Officers of the Administration

The University of Texas at Austin

William Powers Jr., JD, President
Gregory L. Fenves, PhD, Executive Vice President and Provost
Kevin P. Hegarty, MPA, CPA, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Gregory J. Vincent, JD, EdD, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
Patricia C. Ohlendorf, JD, Vice President for Legal Affairs
Juan M. Sanchez, PhD, Vice President for Research
Gage E. Paine, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs
Patricia L. Clubb, PhD, Vice President for University Operations
Stephen W. Patterson, JD, Athletic Director
Christine A. Plonsky, BS, Athletic Director
Nancy A. Brazzil, BS, Deputy to the President
Senior Associate Vice President for Development (vacant at time of publication)
Gwen W. Grigsby, MPA, Associate Vice President for Governmental Relations
Carlos E. Martinez, JD, Associate Vice President for Governmental Relations

Administrative Officers of the Colleges and Schools

Judith Langlois, PhD, Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
Frederick R. Steiner, PhD, Dean, School of Architecture
Thomas W. Gilligan, PhD, Dean, Red McCombs School of Business
Roderick P. Hart, PhD, Dean, Moody College of Communication
Manuel J. Justiz, PhD, Dean, College of Education
Sharon L. Wood, PhD, PE, Dean, Cockrell School of Engineering
Douglas Dempster, PhD, Dean, College of Fine Arts
Sharon Mosher, PhD, Dean, John A. and Katherine G. Jackson School of Geosciences
Andrew P. Dillon, PhD, Dean, School of Information
Ward Farnsworth, JD, Dean, School of Law
Randy L. Diehl, PhD, Dean, College of Liberal Arts
S. Claiburne Johnston, MD, PhD, Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean, Dell Medical School
Linda Hicke, PhD, Dean, College of Natural Sciences
Alexa K. Stuifbergen, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean, School of Nursing
M. Lynn Crismon, PharmD, Dean, College of Pharmacy
Robert L. Hutchings, PhD, Dean, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs
Luis Zayas, PhD, Dean, School of Social Work
Brent Iverson, PhD, Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies

The University of Texas System

Francisco G. Cigarroa, MD, Chancellor
Pedro Reyes, PhD, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Scott C. Kelley, EdD, Executive Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Raymond Greenberg, PhD, Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Dan Sharphorn, JD, Vice Chancellor and General Counsel
Barry McBee, JD, Vice Chancellor and Chief Governmental Relations Officer
Randa S. Safady, PhD, Vice Chancellor for External Relations
Amy Shaw Thomas, JD, Vice Chancellor and Counsel for Health Affairs
William H. Shute, JD, Vice Chancellor for Federal Relations
Stephanie Bond Huie, Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives
Patricia Hurn, PhD, Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
Terry A. Hull, Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance