# Communication Studies

Master of Arts Doctor of Philosophy

#### For More Information

Campus address: Jesse H. Jones Communication Center (Academic) (CMA) A7.112, phone (512) 471-1942, fax (512) 471-3504; campus mail code: A1105

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Communication Studies, 2504 Whitis Avenue A1105, Austin TX 78712

E-mail: commstudies@austin.utexas.edu

URL: http://commstudies.utexas.edu/

## **Facilities for Graduate Work**

The graduate program provides students with a designated computer lab and access to a departmental printer. The Robert Hopper Lab is equipped with multi-platform computers (two Apple and two PC), statistical software packages, storage space, study space, lounge space, and research and collaboration space. Audio and video equipment is available to check out from the Moody College of Communication. A Research Participation Software system is provided for graduate students to recruit undergraduate participants for research studies.

The program provides all students with cubicle or office space within the Moody College of Communication complex. In addition, facilities are available for testing, defenses, research, virtual interviews, and various graduate student needs.

## **Areas of Study**

The traditional master's (Option I) and doctoral degree programs in communication studies provide training in the following areas: interpersonal communication, organizational communication and technology, and rhetoric, language, and political communication.

The Option III master's degree in communication studies provides training in strategic communication.

The Doctor of Philosophy degree with a major in communication studies is a research degree; doctoral students can expect opportunities to work closely with the faculty on research and to participate in the publication of research findings. All doctoral students are expected to achieve mastery of research design principles and methods appropriate to their program of study.

## **Graduate Studies Committee**

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Dawna Ballard Matthew S McGlone Joshua Ben Barbour Roselia Mendez Murillo Jav Michael Bernhardt **Nik Palomares** Michael Butterworth Ashwin Rajadesingan Karma Ruth Chavez Craig R Scott Rene M Dailey Samantha Shorey John A Daly Stacey K Sowards Erin Eileen Donovan Keri K Stephens Shiv Ganesh Jurgen K Streeck Joshua G Gunn Natalie J Stroud Roderick P Hart Scott R Stroud Elin J Hartelius Jeffrey Treem Sharon E Jarvis Anita L Vangelisti Madeline M Maxwell

## Admission Requirements

Entering students must have a bachelor's degree (or the equivalent) from an accredited institution, and their undergraduate preparation should include at least nine semester hours of upper-division coursework in communication studies. All applicants must meet the Graduate School's admission requirements.

Satisfying these minimum requirements does not guarantee admission. Each applicant's credentials are scrutinized by each faculty member in the program. No single criterion, such as grade point average or Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) score, is given undue weight in the decision process; every attempt is made to assess the special strengths that the applicant might bring to the program.