## Statement on Equal Educational Opportunity

The University of Texas at Austin is committed to an educational and working environment that provides equal opportunity to all members of the University community. In accordance with federal and state law, the University prohibits unlawful discrimination, including harassment, on the basis of race; color; religion; national origin; gender, including sexual harassment; age; disability; citizenship; and veteran status. Discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression is also prohibited pursuant to University policy. Any member of the University community who feels they have been subject to discrimination, harassment, or retaliation should contact the <u>Center for Access and Restorative Engagement</u> in person at SSB 3.212, Austin TX 78712; via e-mail at <u>care@austin.utexas.edu</u>; or by phone at (512) 471-1849.

### Accreditation

The University of Texas at Austin is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, professional, and doctorate degrees. The University of Texas at Austin also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of The University of Texas at Austin may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website (www.sacscoc.org).

## The University of Texas at Austin

The University of Texas was established by the state legislature in 1881; by popular vote, the main University was located at Austin and the Medical Branch at Galveston. The Austin campus was opened in September, 1883, with a faculty of eight and a student body of 218; about three-quarters of the students were registered in the Academic Department and the remainder in the Law Department. In the intervening decades, the central campus has grown from forty to more than 360 acres, while the student body has increased to about 39,000 undergraduates and 11,000 graduate students. In 1967, with the creation of The University of Texas System, the name of the main University was changed to The University of Texas at Austin.

University students represent both the diverse population of the state and the full range of contemporary scholarship: an undergraduate may choose courses from more than 200 fields of study while pursuing any of more than 150 majors. Undergraduate study is supported by extensive computer facilities and by one of the largest academic libraries in the nation. Students also benefit from the broad range of scholarly and technical research conducted by the faculty and the research staff.

The city of Austin is a relaxed and cosmopolitan setting for the University. The city is home to respected professional communities in theatre, dance, the visual arts, and classical and popular music that offer a wide range of cultural events. Students may also take part in recreational activities made possible by the temperate climate and Austin's location in the Hill Country of central Texas.

For further historical and current information about the University, see <u>General Information</u>.

# The University of Texas System

The University of Texas at Austin is the largest component of The University of Texas System. The system is governed by a nine-member Board of Regents appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the state Senate. In addition to the University, the system consists of the following institutions. Information about the system and its components is published at <u>http://www.utsystem.edu/</u>.

- The University of Texas at Arlington
- The University of Texas at Dallas
- The University of Texas at El Paso
- The University of Texas of the Permian Basin
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
- · The University of Texas at San Antonio
- The University of Texas at Tyler
- The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
- The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
- The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
- The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
- The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
- · The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler

### **Student Honor Code**

*I pledge, as a member of The University of Texas at Austin community, to do my work honestly, respectfully, and through the intentional pursuit of learning and scholarship.* 

### **University Code of Conduct**

The core values of The University of Texas at Austin are learning, discovery, freedom, leadership, individual opportunity, and responsibility. Each member of the University is expected to uphold these values through integrity, honesty, trust, fairness, and respect toward peers and community.