# **Engineering Mechanics**

Master of Science in Engineering Doctor of Philosophy

#### For More Information

Campus address: Aerospace Engineering (ASE) 2.228, phone (512) 471-7595, fax (512) 471-3788; campus mail code: C0600

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program in Engineering Mechanics, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, 2617 Wichita Street, Stop C0600, Austin TX 78712

E-mail: ase.grad@utexas.edu

URL: http://www.ae.utexas.edu/

## **Objectives**

The engineering mechanics graduate program is involved in teaching and research in analytical, computational, and experimental methods in mechanics of solids, structures, and materials and fluid mechanics. The objectives of the program are to enable the student to attain a deeper understanding of engineering mechanics fundamentals, a knowledge of recent developments, and the ability as a master's degree student to participate in research and as a doctoral degree student to conduct individual research. The goals are accomplished through coursework, seminars, and active research programs.

### **Areas of Study and Facilities**

Graduate study and facilities for research are offered in the areas of theoretical mechanics and applied mathematics, dynamics, computational mechanics, experimental fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics, finite element methods, boundary element methods, experimental mechanics, solid and structural mechanics, and structural dynamics. The extensive facilities of Information Technology Services and related hardware for interactive computer graphics and realtime control of experiments are available to graduate students for research use. For experimental research, the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics maintains laboratory facilities on the main campus and at the J. J. Pickle Research Campus. These facilities include equipment for studies in high-velocity impact, structural dynamics, and materials science. A well-equipped machine shop is partially supported by the department, and technical assistance is available when required.

#### **Graduate Studies Committee**

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2024 semester.

Tan Thanh Bui Nanshu Lu Clinton N Dawson Mark E Mear Leszek F Demkowicz Manuel Karl Rausch Berkin Dortdivanlioglu Krishnaswa Ravi-Chandar

John Timothy Foster Gregory J Rodin Michael S Sacks Rui Huang Thomas J Hughes Javant Sirohi Loukas F Kallivokas Mary F Wheeler Stelios Kyriakides Karen E Willcox Chad Matthew Landis Jin Yang

Kenneth M Liechti