# Government

Master of Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

### For More Information

**Campus address:** Batts Hall (BAT) 2.116, phone (512) 471-5121, fax (512) 471-1061; campus mail code: A1800

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Government, 158 West 21st Street A1800, Austin TX 78712

E-mail: gov-gpo@austin.utexas.edu

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/government/

#### **Facilities for Graduate Work**

With more than 60 full-time or jointly appointed members, the Department of Government is one of the largest political science faculties in the country. The department houses important research centers, including the Innovations for Peace and Development Lab, the Politics of Race and Ethnicity Lab, the Public Policy Institute, and the Policy Agendas Project, and its faculty are affiliated with a variety of global research initiatives, like the Comparative Constitutions Project and the AidData Research Consortium. The department's research resources include excellent computer facilities and an extensive collection of machine-readable social science data.

Students in the department also take advantage of many of the University's research facilities and programs, including the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and Centers for East Asian Studies; Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies; and Middle Eastern Studies. Many other units provide institutional support for political scientists, including the Brazil Center, the Edward A. Clark Center for Australian and New Zealand Studies, the Center for European Studies, the John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies, and the South Asia Institute.

The University has one of the largest academic libraries in the United States, with many collections of value for research in government and politics; these include the Benson Latin American Collection, the Grattan collection on Australia, the Woodrow Wilson collection, the Tobenkin collection on the Russian Revolution, the Jaffe collection on political radicalism, and a variety of special materials on southern and western Americana, Southwestern history and politics, India, East Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and the British Commonwealth. The library system also includes the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the Harry Ransom Center, and the Tarlton Law Library. The campus is the site of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, an invaluable resource for the study of twentieth-century politics.

## **Areas of Study**

All candidates for graduate degrees are expected to develop a broad competence in the discipline as a whole as well as expertise in specific areas. The program offers specialized instruction in the following fields: American politics, comparative politics, international relations, methodology, political theory, public law, and public policy.

#### **Graduate Studies Committee**

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2024 semester.

Richard Albert Bethany L Albertson Zoltan D Barany Daniel M Brinks Jason M Brownlee J Budziszewski Roberto Carlos Terrence Leon Chapman Alison Craig JB Duck-Mayr Justin Dyer Zachary S Elkins Derek Epp Michael G Findley James K Galbraith John Gerring Nate Gilmore Kenneth F Greene Benjamin G Gregg Roderick P Hart Wendy A Hunter Gary J Jacobsohn Nathan Michael Jensen Connor T Jerzak Stephen August Jessee Bryan Davidson Jones David L Leal Sanford V Levinson Tse-Min Lin Amy H Liu

Xiaobo Lu Robert C Luskin Patricia Maclachlan Raul L Madrid Eric Leon McDaniel Patrick J McDonald Robert G Moser **Daniel Nielson** Lorraine S Pangle Thomas L Pangle H W Perry Jr Tasha S Philpot Lucas A Powe Jr Brian E Roberts Daron R Shaw Michael E Shepherd Zeynep Somer-Topcu Bartholomew H Sparrow David B Spence Devin A Stauffer Sean M Theriault Jeffrey K Tulis Maurizio Viroli Hannah L Walker Rachel Wellhausen **Timothy Daniel Werner** Kurt G Weyland Christopher Wlezien Michael Scott Wolford