History

Master of Arts Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Garrison Hall (GAR) 1.104B, phone (512) 471-3261, fax (512) 475-7222; campus mail code: B7000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of History, 128 Inner Campus Drive, Stop B7000, Austin TX 78712

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/history/graduate/overview.php

Facilities for Graduate Work

Graduate students in history have access to major collections of research materials in a number of fields. The Benson Latin American Collection of printed and manuscript materials is of international importance for research and study in the history of Latin America in general and Mexico in particular. The Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum and its Oral History Project offer an unprecedented wealth of material for the study of United States history in the Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson years. In the Perry-Castañeda Library, the Harry Ransom Center, and the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History are major collections related to the history of science, twentieth-century writers, British and European history, and the history of Texas, the South, and the West, and documents of the United States and of the United Nations. The Natchez Trace Collection in the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History provides an unparalleled resource for the study of the history of the lower Mississippi region in the nineteenth century. At the Episcopal Theological Seminary of the Southwest near the University campus are the national archives of the Episcopal Church, containing books and manuscripts from the colonial period onward.

Areas of Study

Graduate study in history is offered in the following major fields: Africa; Atlantic; East Asia; early modern Europe; history of science, technology, and medicine; Latin America; medieval Europe; Middle East; modern Europe; South Asia; and United States.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2024 semester.

Kamran S Aghaie Kamran Ali Chad Alvarez Alex A Beasley Douglas G Biow Marion Enid Bodian Henry W Brands Benjamin Claude Brower Jonathan C Brown Erika M Bsumek Walter L Buenger Jr Matthew J Butler Jorge Canizares Adam John Clulow Judith G Coffin David F Crew Janet M Davis Susan Deans-Smith Lina Maria Del castillo Yoav Di-Capua Jennifer V Ebbeler Oloruntoyin O Falola Ashley Farmer William E Forbath Alison K Frazier Joshua Frens-String Seth W Garfield Virginia C Garrard Laurie B Green Sumit Guha Lauren Jae Gutterman Julie Hardwick Bruce J Hunt Monica A Jimenez Jacqueline Jones

Peniel E Joseph Neil D Kamil Mikiva Kovagi Mark A Lawrence Talitha L LeFlouria Philippa Judith Levine Huaiyin Li Tatjana Lichtenstein Alberto A Martinez Monica Munoz Martinez Tracie M Matysik Steven Mintz A Azfar Moin Leonard Nathaniel Moore Santiago Munoz Arbelaez Joan H Neuberger Mary C Neuburger Martha G Newman Aaron O'Connell Robert A Olwell Abena Dove agyepoma Osseoasare Megan Margaret Raby Carlos E Ramos Mark Ravina Annette M Rodriguez Steven Seegel Cristina Soriano Denise A Spellberg Jeremi Suri Cynthia M Talbot Shirley E Thompson Alan Tully Ann Twinam Villalon Charters S Wynn Emilio Zamora