Philosophy

Master of Arts Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Waggener Hall (WAG) 329, phone (512) 471-6093, fax (512) 471-4806; campus mail code: C3500

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Philosophy, 2210 Speedway Stop C3500, Austin TX 78712

E-mail: graduatephilosophy@austin.utexas.edu

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/philosophy/

Areas of Study

The Department of Philosophy offers areas of concentration across the discipline and offers special programs in cooperation with other departments: (1) ancient philosophy, with the Department of Classics; (2) history and philosophy of science, with the Department of History; and (3) philosophy and cognitive science, with the Departments of Linguistics, Psychology, and Computer Science. For descriptions of these programs, students should consult the graduate advisor.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

David I Beaver
Daniel A Bonevac
Lawrence Ray Buchanan
J Budziszewski
Jonathan Dancy
John Deigh
Joshua Dever
Sinan Dogramaci
Julia L Driver
Daniel Drucker
Katherine Laura Dunlop
Matthew L Evans
Robert J Hankinson
Kathleen M Higgins
Cory F Juhl
Robert C Koons
Robbie Kubala
Harvey Lederman

Jon E Litland Aloysius P Martinich Michelle Montague Stephen H Phillips Ian N Proops Connie Rosati **Richard M Sainsbury** Sahotra Sarkar Karl Schafer Miriam Schoenfield Tara A Smith Roy Sorensen David Sosa Galen Strawson Michael Tye Stephen A White Paul B Woodruff