Master of Arts Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Building (SEA) 4.228, phone (512) 471-6398, campus mail code: A8000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Department of Psychology, Graduate Program, 108 East Dean Keeton A8000, Austin TX 78712

Email: psygradoffice@austin.utexas.edu

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/psychology/

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Department of Psychology is located in the Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Building. State-of-the-art computer networking is integrated into the building; there are computer facilities, computerized laboratories, and technological support for students and faculty members. Laboratory facilities include environmental control of sound, light, and temperature, with vibration-free areas for auditory and vision research. A number of specialized research centers are located in the building, including the Children's Research Center, the Center for Perceptual Systems, the Institute for Mental Health Research, and the Clinical Training Clinic.

The Biomedical Imaging Center (BIC), located in the Norman Hackerman Building, and in the Health and Discovery Building at the Dell Medical School, is an interdisciplinary, multi-methods facility specializing in noninvasive neuroimaging. The core of the center are two Siemens 3T MRI scanners used by many researchers for studies of human perception, memory, decision-making, and behavior. Unique emphases at the BIC include a strong connection to supercomputing resources at the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC), real-time fMRI, high-resolution / 3D visual presentation, and support for developmental studies. The facility also contains a number of resources for imaging in model systems, as well as imaging-informed fabrication and machining.

Graduate students and faculty members in the Department of Psychology participate in research programs with graduate students and faculty members in the Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, also housed in the Seay Building, and in many other fields, including biological sciences, communication, computer science, educational psychology, kinesiology, linguistics, pharmacy, and sociology. The Hogg Foundation for Mental Health and the Waggoner Center for Alcohol and Addiction Research provide additional collaborative opportunities.

Areas of Study

Graduate work is offered in the following areas of specialization: behavioral neuroscience; clinical psychology; cognition, brain and behavior; developmental psychology; individual differences and evolutionary psychology; perception, brain, and behavior; and social and personality psychology; Students are admitted for graduate work in one of these areas. Students in any of these areas may also complete a portfolio in applied statistical modeling. The program in clinical psychology has been approved by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System (PCSAS). The program in general psychology is a STEM Designated Degree Program, as identified by the Department of Homeland Security for purposes of the 24-month STEM optional practical training extension.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Jennifer S Beer Christopher G Beevers David M Buss Caryn L Carlson Frances Anne Champagne Jessica Alice Church-Lang Alexandra L Clark Lawrence K Cormack James Patrick Curley Kaya de Barbaro Yvon Delville Juan M Dominguez Michael P Domjan Audrey Duarte Joseph Edward Dunsmoor Jr Catharine H Echols Kim Fromme Andrew David Gaudet Bertram Gawronski Wilson S Geisler III David L Gilden F Gonzalez-Lima Andrea C Gore Robbe Lieve Theofiel Goris Samuel D Gosling Zenzi Margareta Griffin Andreana P Haley Kathryn Paige Harden Mary Myleen Hayhoe Marlone Deshaun Henderson Charles J Holahan Theresa A Jones

Robert A Josephs Judith H Langlois Hongjoo Joanne Lee Cristine H Legare Marc S Lewis Jarrod Alan Lewis-Peacock Arthur B Markman **Cindy M Meston** Marie Helene Monfils Ian Michael Nauhaus A Rebecca Neal-Beevers Linda Jeanne Noble Desmond Ong Caitlin A Orsini James W Pennebaker Franco Pestilli Alison R Preston Nicholas J Priebe David M Schnyer Eyal Seidemann Jasper A Smits David W Springer William B Swann Jr Michael J Telch Katharine Allen Tillman Adela Timmons Elliot Max Tucker-Drob Xuexin Wei Jacqueline D Woolley David Scott Yeager Chen Yu