# **Mathematics**

Master of Arts Doctor of Philosophy

### For More Information

**Campus address:** Robert Lee Moore Hall (RLM) 8.100, phone (512) 471-7711, fax (512) 471-9038; campus mail code: C1200

**Mailing address:** The University of Texas at Austin, Department of Mathematics, Attn: Graduate Program, 2515 Speedway C1200, Austin TX 78712-1202

E-mail: gradadv@math.utexas.edu

URL: http://www.ma.utexas.edu/

# **Facilities for Graduate Work**

The <u>Kuehne Physics Mathematics Astronomy Library</u> has a broad range of mathematical literature for study and research. The collection offers access to a wide variety of print-based and electronic research tools, including bibliographic databases and research and teaching journals in all areas of mathematics. The collection of e-journals is extensive. Electronic resources are accessible through the University Libraries website.

The Department of Mathematics computer system is available for use in connection with courses and investigations in both pure and applied mathematics.

## Areas of Study

The Department of Mathematics offers a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree and a Master of Arts (MA) degree with a focus in actuarial mathematics.

Note that Master's programs are not offered in other areas of mathematics.

Graduate study in mathematics is offered in the areas of algebra, number theory, analysis, topology, geometry, applied mathematics, probability and statistics, numerical analysis, network and information theory, and actuarial mathematics.

#### **Graduate Studies Committee**

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester. Daniel J Allcock Todd J Arbogast William Beckner David D Ben-Zvi Lewis P Bowen Patrick L Brockett Ashay Burungale Luis A Caffarelli Thomas Chen Mirela Ciperiani Jeffrey E Danciger Matias Gonzalo Delgadino **Bjorn Engquist** Daniel S Freed Irene M Gamba Oscar Gonzalez Cameron M Gordon Maria Pia Pia Gualdani Ronny Hadani Raymond C Heitmann Arie Israel Kate Juschenko Sean M Keel Joseph David Kileel Daniel F Knopf Hans A Koch John E Luecke

Francesco Maggi Per-Gunnar J Martinsson Peter Mueller Joseph Neeman J T Oden Stefania Patrizi Natasa Pavlovic Samuel Payne **Timothy Perutz** Charles L Radin Maksym Radziwill Samuel David Raskin Lorenzo A Sadun Bernd Siebert Mihai Sirbu Michael P Starbird **Thibaud Olivier Taillefumier** Ngoc Tran Philip U Treisman Yen-Hsi Tsai Alexis F Vasseur Mikhail M Vishik Stephen G Walker Rachel A Ward Mary F Wheeler Thaleia Zariphopoulou Gordan Zitkovic