Neuroscience

Master of Science in Neuroscience Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Norman Hackerman Building Building (NHB) 2.504, phone (512) 471-3640; campus mail code: C7000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Institute for Neuroscience, 100 E 24th Street Stop C7000, Austin TX 78712

E-mail: neuroscience@mail.clm.utexas.edu

URL: https://neuroscienceinstitute.utexas.edu/

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Institute for Neuroscience offers excellent opportunities for multidisciplinary graduate study in the neurosciences. Facilities include those maintained by the participating programs in the Colleges of Natural Sciences, Liberal Arts, Pharmacy, Education, Communication, Dell Medical School and in the Cockrell School of Engineering. Institutional support, training grants, and federal and state grants to investigators in the institute provide stipends and support research. Faculty members throughout the institute participate in interdisciplinary seminars, two semester-long broad based neuroscience courses and multiple topically oriented neuroscience courses. The goal of the institute is to train students to employ multidisciplinary approaches in their careers in neuroscience research, teaching and industry. Toward this end, the faculty seeks to provide a diverse, cohesive, and interactive atmosphere and a flexible curriculum that meets the needs of each individual.

Areas of Study

Neuroscience encompasses behavioral, systems, cellular, molecular, and computational approaches to understanding the nervous system. The faculty use a wide variety of state-of-the-art techniques for their studies, including functional magnetic and optical imaging, various behavioral analyses of animals and humans, transmission and scanning electron microscopy, molecular and cellular biophysics, cellular- and systems-level neurophysiology, biochemistry, molecular genetics, and various types of computer modeling. The research-intensive environment emphasizes multidisciplinary investigations. The program offers students both a sound education in neuroscience and a broad research experience.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Seema Agarwala Richard W Aldrich Nigel S Atkinson Chandrajit L Bajaj Adela Ben-Yakar George D Bittner Darrin H Brager Audrey C Brumback Frances Anne Champagne Craig A Champlin Jessica Alice Church-Lang Josh M Cisler Laura Lee Colgin Lawrence K Cormack James Patrick Curley Yvon Delville Ming-Chieh Ding Lauren K Dobbs Juan M Dominguez Jennifer Jane Donegan Michael Drew **Audrey Duarte** Joseph Edward Dunsmoor Jr

Andrew K Dunn
Joseph Edward Dunsmo
Christine L Duvauchelle
Johann K Eberhart
Lief Fenno
Laura K Fonken
Greg Anthony Fonzo
Mike Freedberg
Andrew David Gaudet
Wilson S Geisler III
Nace L Golding
Marcel Goldschen
Rueben A Gonzales
F Gonzalez-Lima
Andrea C Gore

Robbe Lieve Theofiel Goris Andreana P Haley Liberty Hamilton Kristen M Harris Mary Myleen Hayhoe Maya L Henry Johann Hofmann Mackenzie A Howard Sara J Hussain Alexander Huth Mbemba Jabbi Andres Jara-Oseguera Theresa A Jones John S Kuo Amy Lee

Hongjoo Joanne Lee Jarrod Alan Lewis-Peacock Elizabeth Thomas Cox Lippard

Michela Marinelli Michael Mauk Roy D Mayfield Esther Melamed Robert Messing S J Mihic

Risto P Miikkulainen Jose del R Millan Marie Helene Monfils Hitoshi Morikawa

Somshuvra Mukhopadhyay

Luis A Natividad lan Michael Nauhaus Hiroshi Nishiyama Kimberly Nixon Linda Jeanne Noble Caitlin A Orsini David Paydarfar Franco Pestilli Steven M Phelps Jonathan T Pierce George D Pollak Alison R Preston Nicholas J Priebe Susanne Ressl

Samantha Rose Santacruz

David M Schnyer
William Schwartz
Eyal Seidemann
Eric Senning
Jason B Shear
Stephen M Strakowski
Thibaud Olivier Taillefumier

Huiliang Wang Xuexin Wei Chen Yu Harold H Zakon Boris Zemelman

Admission Requirements

The requirements of the Graduate School for admission into a Doctor of Philosophy degree program must be met. However, the qualifications of most admitted applicants exceed these minimum requirements. All applicants must hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, usually in a biological science, chemistry, computer science, experimental psychology, pharmacy, or engineering. Undergraduate preparation should include one year of chemistry, one year of biology, mathematics through calculus, and courses in psychology and physics. However, students without some of these prerequisites may be admitted on the condition that they make up any deficiencies during their first two years of study.