Theatre and Dance

Master of Arts (Theatre)
Master of Fine Arts (Dance)
Master of Fine Arts (Theatre)
Doctor of Philosophy (Theatre)

For More Information

Campus address: F. Loren Winship Drama Building (WIN) 1.142, phone (512) 471-5793, fax (512) 471-0824; campus mail code: D3900

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Theatre and Dance, 300 East 23rd Street Stop D3900, Austin TX 78712



Facilities for Graduate Work

The rare and unique materials in the Performing Arts Collection of the Harry Ransom Center, along with the collections in the Fine Arts Library and other units of the University Libraries, constitute one of the most extensive research facilities in the country. The Department of Theatre and Dance also maintains a collection of historical clothing for research purposes. The theatrical production facilities of the Performing Arts Center, described in the Fine Arts section, are unsurpassed.

Areas of Study

Master of Arts. The Master of Arts with a major in theatre is offered in two areas: performance as public practice, and teacher training. The Master of Arts in performance as public practice is appropriate preparation for doctoral study; the Master of Arts in teacher training is an appropriate terminal degree. 

Master of Fine Arts. The Master of Fine Arts is offered in both theatre and in dance. The major in theatre includes five areas: drama and theatre for youth and communities, playwriting, directing, performance as public practice, and theatrical design/technology. The Master of Fine Arts provides advanced training for those specializing in one of the performing arts. It is an appropriate terminal degree in these areas.

Doctor of Philosophy. The doctoral degree in theatre is offered in performance as public practice. The program requires competence in research and allows the student to develop both a broad understanding of the field, including practical skills, and in-depth knowledge of a specialized area.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2020 semester.

Megan Alrutz
Charles Odell Anderson
William Bloodgood
Paul A Bonin
Charlotte Canning
Kathryn M Dawson
Douglas J Dempster
Steven Dietz
Franchelle Dorn
Lucien Douglas
James J Glavan
Laura G Gutierrez
Michelle Habeck
Richard M Isackes
Kirk E Lynn
Gesel Mason
Francie Ostrower
Brant Pope
Robert Ramirez
Rebecca Rossen
KJ Sanchez
Roxanne Schroeder-Arce
Lisa B Thompson
Holly A Williams

Admission Requirements

Master’s degrees. The applicant must have a bachelor’s degree and must have demonstrated interest and experience in theatre and/or dance. The Graduate Record Examinations General Test (GRE) is required for admission.

Doctoral degree. Students admitted to the doctoral program must hold a master’s degree from an accredited institution. All applicants must submit GRE scores.