Master of Arts
Master of Fine Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Jesse H. Jones Communication Center (Academic) (CMA) 6.116, phone (512) 471-3532, fax (512) 471-4077; campus mail code: A0800

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Radio-Television-Film, 2504 Whitis Avenue A0800, Austin TX 78712

URL: http://rtf.utexas.edu/

Facilities for Graduate Work

The extensive production facilities of the Jesse H. Jones Communication Center are available to graduate students in radio-television-film, as are the services of Information Technology Services. Research in media history, criticism, and theory is supported by the resources of the University Libraries, the Research and Collections Division of the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, and the Harry Ransom Center, a major collection of primary materials in literature, film, and the arts. Students in global media have available to them the nationally recognized resources of the Benson Latin American Collection, the Center for Middle Eastern Studies, and the South Asia Institute. 

Areas of Study

Students seeking the Master of Arts or the Doctor of Philosophy pursue work in a number of concentrations, including identity and representation; history and criticism; media industries; global cinema and media; and digital media. Students seeking the Master of Fine Arts study film and media production, or screenwriting.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Miguel A Alvarez
Mary C Beltran
Charles E Berg
Wenhong Chen
Mirasol Enriquez
Caroline J Frick
Kathryn Fuller
Andrew S Garrison
Lalitha Gopalan
Noah Isenberg
Stuart David Kelban
Shanti Kumar
Richard M Lewis
Madhavi Mallapragada
Jennifer McClearen
Cynthia Ann Mccreery
Curran J Nault
Sarah Seulki Oh
Alisa H Perren
PJ Raval
Thomas G Schatz
Nancy Schiesari
Suzanne Scott
Adrien P Sebro
Adriana Serrano
Andrew B Shea
Dwain Y Smith
Iliana Sosa
Joseph Straubhaar
Sharon L Strover