Master of Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: William C. Powers Jr. Student Activity Center (WCP) 4.102, phone (512) 471-4206, fax (512) 471-6535; campus mail code: C3200

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Graduate Program, Department of Anthropology, 2201 Speedway C3200, Austin TX 78712

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/anthropology/

Facilities for Graduate Work

Facilities available to graduate students in anthropology include the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies, the Benson Latin American Collection, the Américo Paredes Center for Cultural Studies, and the Texas Archaeological Research Laboratory. The J. J. Pickle Research Campus and the Department of Anthropology offer facilities for research in antiquities conservation; geophysical survey; physical anthropology; paleontology; archaeomagnetic research; and primate anatomy and behavior. The department also maintains research facilities in archaeology, social anthropology, and linguistic anthropology.

Areas of Study

Graduate study in anthropology is offered in the areas of biological anthropology, archaeology, linguistic anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology, with emphasis on North, Central, and South America, Micronesia, Central, South, and Southeast Asia, Madagascar, the Middle East, and Africa.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Kamran Ali
Craig A Campbell
Paola Canova
Iokepa Casumbal-Salazar
Iyaxel Ixkan Cojti Ren
Jason Cons
Ronald Covey
Jonathan Crosson
Celina Aisha Davidson de Sa
Anthony F Di Fiore
Patience L Epps
Veit F Erlmann
Richard R Flores
Kevin M Foster
Maria Franklin
Lyndon K Gill
Courtney Handman
John Hartigan
Heather Anne Hindman
Mary E Ibarrola
John W Kappelman Jr
Elizabeth L Keating
Ward W Keeler
Edward C Kirk
Daniel A Law
Randolph R Lewis
Rebecca J Lewis
Mallory Emiko Matsumoto
Martha Menchaca
Sofian Merabet
Chelsi West Ohueri
Robert M Oppenheim
Marina Louise Peterson
Denne N Reed
Ashante M Reese
Enrique R Rodriguez
Arlene Rosen
Aaron G Sandel
Liza J Shapiro
Maria Sidorkina
James Slotta
Christen Anne Smith
Xisai Song
Kathleen C Stewart
Pauline T Strong
David S Stuart
Circe Sturm
John W Traphagan
Fred Valdez Jr
Maria D Wade
Anthony K Webster
Samuel M Wilson
Anthony C Woodbury