Master of Arts
Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Building (SEA) 4.228, phone (512) 471-6398, campus mail code: A8000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Department of Psychology, Graduate Program, 108 East Dean Keeton A8000, Austin TX 78712

Email: psygradoffice@austin.utexas.edu

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/psychology/

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Department of Psychology is located in the Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Building. State-of-the-art computer networking is integrated into the building; there are computer facilities, computerized laboratories, and technological support for students and faculty members. Laboratory facilities include environmental control of sound, light, and temperature, with vibration-free areas for auditory and vision research. A number of specialized research centers are located in the building, including the Children’s Research Center, the Center for Perceptual Systems, the Institute for Mental Health Research, and the Clinical Training Clinic.

The Biomedical Imaging Center (BIC), located in the Norman Hackerman Building, and in the Health and Discovery Building at the Dell Medical School, is an interdisciplinary, multi-methods facility specializing in non-invasive neuroimaging. The core of the center are two Siemens 3T MRI scanners used by many researchers for studies of human perception, memory, decision-making, and behavior. Unique emphases at the BIC include a strong connection to supercomputing resources at the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC), real-time fMRI, high-resolution / 3D visual presentation, and support for developmental studies. The facility also contains a number of resources for imaging in model systems, as well as imaging-informed fabrication and machining.

Graduate students and faculty members in the Department of Psychology participate in research programs with graduate students and faculty members in the Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, also housed in the Seay Building, and in many other fields, including biological sciences, communication, computer science, educational psychology, kinesiology, linguistics, pharmacy, and sociology. The Hogg Foundation for Mental Health and the Waggoner Center for Alcohol and Addiction Research provide additional collaborative opportunities.

Areas of Study

Graduate work is offered in the following areas of specialization: behavioral neuroscience; clinical psychology; cognition, brain and behavior; developmental psychology; individual differences and evolutionary psychology; perception, brain, and behavior; and social and personality psychology; Students are admitted for graduate work in one of these areas. Students in any of these areas may also complete a portfolio in applied statistical modeling. The program in clinical psychology has been approved by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System (PCSAS). The program in general psychology is a STEM Designated Degree Program, as identified by the Department of Homeland Security for purposes of the 24-month STEM optional practical training extension. 

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Jennifer S Beer
Christopher G Beevers
David M Buss
Caryn L Carlson
Frances Anne Champagne
Jessica Alice Church-Lang
Alexandra L Clark
Lawrence K Cormack
James Patrick Curley
Kaya de Barbaro
Yvon Delville
Juan M Dominguez
Michael P Domjan
Audrey Duarte
Joseph Edward Dunsmoor Jr
Catharine H Echols
Kim Fromme
Andrew David Gaudet
Bertram Gawronski
Wilson S Geisler III
David L Gilden
F Gonzalez-Lima
Andrea C Gore
Robbe Lieve Theofiel Goris
Samuel D Gosling
Zenzi Margareta Griffin
Andreana P Haley
Kathryn Paige Harden
Mary Myleen Hayhoe
Marlone Deshaun Henderson
Charles J Holahan
Theresa A Jones
Robert A Josephs
Judith H Langlois
Hongjoo Joanne Lee
Cristine H Legare
Marc S Lewis
Jarrod Alan Lewis-Peacock
Arthur B Markman
Cindy M Meston
Marie Helene Monfils
Ian Michael Nauhaus
A Rebecca Neal-Beevers
Linda Jeanne Noble
Desmond Ong
Caitlin A Orsini
James W Pennebaker
Franco Pestilli
Alison R Preston
Nicholas J Priebe
David M Schnyer
Eyal Seidemann
Jasper A Smits
David W Springer
William B Swann Jr
Michael J Telch
Katharine Allen Tillman
Adela Timmons
Elliot Max Tucker-Drob
Xuexin Wei
Jacqueline D Woolley
David Scott Yeager
Chen Yu