Master of Fine Arts

For More Information

Campus address: J. Frank Dobie House (FDH), 702 East Dean Keeton Street, phone (512) 471-1601, fax (512) 471-9997; campus mail code: A3400

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, MFA in Writing, James A. Michener Center for Writers, 702 East Dean Keeton Street Stop A3400, Austin TX 78705-3201

E-mail: mcw@utexas.edu

URL: http://michener.utexas.edu/

Facilities for Graduate Work

The James A. Michener Center for Writers offers a cross-disciplinary Master of Fine Arts program that draws on strong programs in the New Writers Project (fiction and poetry), radio-television-film (screenwriting), and theatre (playwriting). The University Libraries, including the Fine Arts Library, provide rich resources for students interested in the creative process. The Harry Ransom Center houses a number of noted book collections as well as manuscripts, edited drafts, and early editions of creative works. The Jesse H. Jones Communication Center has extensive film and video production facilities, and the Performing Arts Center offers outstanding theatrical production facilities.

Students admitted to the program are offered James A. Michener Fellowships to support their study.

Areas of Study

Students seeking the MFA are expected to develop professional skills in at least two of the following fields of creative work: fiction, poetry, screenwriting, and playwriting. The curriculum requires students to work across disciplines; for example, the student might study fiction as a primary field and screenwriting as a secondary field. Candidates must each write a thesis in their primary field.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2024 semester.

Annie N Baker
Charles E Berg
Oscar H Casares
Jennifer T Chang
Jonathan Edward carey Harvey
Bret Anthony Johnston
Stuart David Kelban
Joanna Klink
Peter N LaSalle
Richard M Lewis
Kirk E Lynn
Elizabeth McCracken
Cynthia Ann Mccreery
Lisa Olstein
Maya C Perez
Roger William Reeves
KJ Sanchez
Deborah Unferth