The Society Program

The Society Program was introduced in 2004 to enhance the sense of community within the law school and to provide opportunities for students to interact with the faculty in small groups.

There are eight societies, with approximately 35 first-year students in each. Students are enrolled in a society in their first year and remain in it until they graduate. The societies are named for individuals who have made a significant impact on the law school. The eight societies are:

Gloria K. Bradford SocietyHonoring the first African American woman to graduate from the School of Law
Carlos Cadena SocietyHonoring the summa cum laude graduate of the School of Law, respected judge, and civil rights crusader
Leon Green SocietyHonoring a graduate of the School of Law who was one of the twentieth century's most important tort scholars and a leading figure in American legal realism
Helen Hargrave SocietyHonoring the School of Law's first female faculty member and longtime librarian
Gus Hodges SocietyHonoring a highly popular professor who used his experience to earn the respect of the legislature, bench, and bar
Antonio "T.J." Martinez SocietyHonoring a graduate of the law school who entered the Society of Jesus and founded the Cristo Rey Jesuit College Preparatory school in Houston
Alice Sheffield SocietyHonoring the successful Gulf Oil attorney who was one of the School of Law's first female graduates
John Sutton SocietyHonoring a longtime professor of evidence and professional responsibility and former dean known for his collegiality

Richard and Ginni Mithoff Pro Bono Program

The Mithoff Pro Bono Program engages students in pro bono work to increase access to justice, build their professional skills, and help develop their lifetime commitment to serving those in need. Information about the program is available at