Public Policy

Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Sid Richardson Hall (SRH) 3.104, phone (512) 471-4292, fax (512) 471-8455; campus mail code: E2700

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, P O Box Y, Austin TX 78713

E-mail: lbjadmit@austin.utexas.edu

URL: https://lbj.utexas.edu

Facilities for Graduate Work

The Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs is housed in Sid Richardson Hall, adjacent to the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum.

The LBJ School Computer Lab is reserved for public affairs students and is available twenty-four hours a day. It provides access to a variety of software useful for completing coursework such as ArcGIS and Stata. Ten dual-boot systems (run both Windows and macOS) are physically available in the lab along with four monitors that can be connected to a personal laptop using a ring of adapters. Additionally, the Computer Lab has 12 Windows systems available for remote connections which enable access to this software from a personal computer while off campus.

Areas of Study

The doctoral degree program in public policy is a research-oriented program designed to give the student substantial knowledge of one or more disciplines, an understanding of the policy process, and technical mastery of advanced research skills. It aims to develop research scholars and university faculty who will make substantive contributions to our understanding of complex public policy problems and who can conduct research in multidisciplinary settings.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Gordon B Abner
Abigail Rosemary ann Aiken
Jacqueline L Angel
Richard Patrick Bixler
Joshua W Busby
Robert M Chesney
George M De Shazo Jr
David J Eaton
Mary Evans
Raissa Fabregas robles gil
Kenneth Flamm
James K Galbraith
Sergio I Garcia
Kishore Gawande
Sheena Elise Greitens
Robert L Hutchings
William Inboden
Peniel E Joseph
Alan J Kuperman
Erin Lentz
Martin Joseph Luby
Ji Ma
Sheila M Olmstead
Todd A Olmstead
Francie Ostrower
Steven Wayne Pedigo
Varun Rai
Victoria E Rodriguez
Jaganath Sankaran
William G Spelman
David W Springer
Chandler W Stolp
Jeremi Suri
Philip U Treisman
Paul Von hippel
Peter M Ward
Andrew Waxman
Catherine Elizabeth Weaver
Patrick P Wong

Admission Requirements

Admission decisions are made by an admissions committee. The committee considers applicants' academic and employment records, three letters of recommendation, a writing sample, and a proposal of study that addresses the applicant's interest in and preparation for doctoral-level public policy research. A résumé and transcripts for all college coursework are also required. 

Additional information on degree requirements and the application process is available from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs website.