Master of Arts
Master of Fine Arts (in Creative Writing)
Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: Calhoun Hall (CAL) 210, phone (512) 471-5132 or (512) 475-6356; campus mail code: B5000

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, Department of English, Graduate Program, 204 West 21st Street Stop B5000, Austin TX 78712

URL: http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/english/graduate-program/information.php

Facilities for Graduate Work

Facilities for graduate work include an excellent library system and a world-renowned research library, the Harry Ransom Center. The Ransom Center provides materials for critical, textual, and bibliographical studies, with its extensive holdings in earlier British literature (including the Pforzheimer Library), modern British and American literature, theatre arts, photography, and other significant subjects for literary and cultural research. The Benson Latin American Collection is one of many campus resources for advanced work in non-European literature and language. The Department of Rhetoric and Writing offers rich opportunities for teaching and study; and the Digital Writing and Research Laboratory enjoys a national reputation for investigating the intersections among technology, language, and literature.

Areas of Study

Courses are offered in the following areas of study: American literature to 1900; 20th and 21st-century American literature; African American and African Diaspora literature; Mexican American and Latinx literature; U.S. race and ethnic studies; archival studies; comparative literature; film and media studies; literary and critical theory; medieval literary studies; Renaissance literature; 18th-century British literature; 19th-century British literature; modern British and Irish literature; modernist studies; global anglophone literature; book history and bibliography and textual studies; digital literacies and literatures; drama, theatre, and performance; ethnic and Third-World literature; language and linguistics; literature and the environment; disability studies and health humanities; poetry and poetics; popular culture and cultural studies; rhetoric; feminist and LGBTQ studies; and women’s literature.

The department also offers workshops in poetry and fiction for students enrolled in the MFA program, as well as craft seminars in fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction. 

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

Frederick Luis Aldama
Minou Arjomand
Samuel Baker
Janine Barchas
JK Barret
Phillip J Barrish
Chad J Bennett
Lance Bertelsen
Daniel J Birkholz
Mary E Blockley
Casey A Boyle
Douglas S Bruster
Mia E Carter
Oscar H Casares
Jennifer T Chang
Davida H Charney
Tanya Elizabeth Clement
James H Cox
Jackie Cuevas
Elizabeth Cullingford
Diane Davis
Rasha Diab
Linda Ferreira-Buckley
Alan W Friedman
John M Gonzalez
Scott Graham
Jonathan Edward carey Harvey
Elizabeth A Hedrick
Geraldine Heng
Jacqueline M Henkel
Angela Hill
Lars Hinrichs
Neville Hoad
Heather Houser
Vox Jo Hsu
Coleman Hutchison
Jose Guadalupe Izaguirre III
Bret Anthony Johnston
Alison Kafer
Martin W Kevorkian
Joanna Klink
David D Kornhaber
Donna Marie Kornhaber
Peter N LaSalle
James N Loehlin
Mark G Longaker
Edward Allen MacDuffie III
Carol H MacKay
Eric S Mallin
Elizabeth McCracken
Julie A Minich
Lisa L Moore
Gretchen Murphy
Neil R Nehring
Lisa Olstein
Domino R Perez
Samantha Nicole Pinto
Aaron Thomas Pratt
Wayne A Rebhorn Jr
Roger William Reeves
Jacqueline R Rhodes
Elizabeth Richmond-Garza
Patricia Roberts-Miller
John P Rumrich
Donnie Johnson Sackey
Elizabeth D Scala
Cathy Jean Schlund-Vials
Ana Schwartz
Bassam F Sidiki
Clay Spinuzzi
Julija Vida Sukys
Deborah Unferth
Jennifer M Wilks
Hannah Chapelle Wojciehowski
Helena Woodard
Marjorie C Woods