Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education

Master of Arts
Master of Education
Doctor of Philosophy

For More Information

Campus address: George I. Sánchez Building (SZB) 462, phone (512) 471-7354 or 471-3747, fax (512) 471-8460; campus mail code: D5700

Mailing address: The University of Texas at Austin, STEM, 1912 Speedway Stop D5700, Austin TX 78712-0379

E-mail: sflynn@austin.utexas.edu; amy.always@austin.utexas.eduriegle@austin.utexas.edu

URL: https://education.utexas.edu/departments/curriculum-instruction/graduate-programs/stem-education

Facilities for Graduate Work

Facilities for graduate work include state-of-the-art computer, multimedia, and videoconferencing laboratories, laboratories for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) research, field-based sites for implementation studies in local school districts, and numerous federal- and state-funded research and development projects in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education. The University Libraries contain more than eight million volumes and provide access to a wide variety of print-based and electronic research tools, the latter through their website. Library units serving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics include the Kuehne Physics Mathematics Astronomy Library, the Mallet Chemistry Library, the Walter Geology Library, and the Life Science Library.

Areas of Study

Graduate study in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education is offered through an interdisciplinary program that combines content preparation with educational research and scholarship, in a setting that fosters and supports tight links to educational practice. The program is anchored by a set of core courses addressing learning, instruction, curriculum, technology, equity, policy, and systemic reform in STEM education, at the elementary, secondary, and postsecondary levels. Coursework is chosen from departments in the College of Education, Cockrell School of Engineering, and College of Natural Sciences, as well as other appropriate University colleges.

Graduate Studies Committee

The following faculty members served on the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) in the spring 2023 semester.

David T Allen
Flavio S Azevedo
Audrey Ruth Boklage
Maura Borrego
Meinhard Bayani Cardenas
Richard H Crawford
Kenneth R Diller
Emma Gargroetzi
Carlos Nicolas Gomez Marchant
Maria Gonzalez-Howard
Brent L Iverson
David A Laude
Tia Madkins
Michael P Marder
Mia K Markey
Jill A Marshall
Mona Mehdy
Shelley M Payne
Pengyu Ren
Catherine Riegle-Crumb
Stanley J Roux Jr
Victor Sampson
Michael P Starbird
Edward C Theriot
Philip U Treisman
Cathery Yeh